The Winner Is…..Texas Sheet Cake

slice of cake
My first post presented an ever so tempting poll…which recipe would you like to see posted first? The winner by a margin was Texas Sheet Cake.

I honestly have no idea where my family found this delicious chocolate cinnamon cake recipe, or who started baking it first. What I do know for sure is that it’s easy, yummy, and always a hit!

When I was a child my grandmother would make it for us every time my sister and I went to visit. My grandfather would eat the cake one sliver at a time, a good technique to keep our grandmother from really noticing how much cake we could actually devour in a day!

Here’s the recipe with some photos to help you along the way! I hope you give it a try and your family loves it as much as mine does. Let me know what you think 🙂

Ingredients (Cake):
2 Cups Flour
2 Cups Sugar
1/2 tsp. Salt
1 Cup Butter (2 sticks)
1 Cup Water
3 Tbsp. Cocoa
2 Well Beaten Eggs
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1/2 Cup Buttermilk
1 tsp. Vanilla
1 tsp. Cinnamon

Ingredients (Frosting):
1/2 Cup Butter (1 stick)
3 Tbsp. Cocoa
6 Tbsp. Milk
1 lb. Powdered Sugar
1 tsp. Vanilla

1. Combine Flour, Sugar, Salt in large mixing bowl (I combine everything in my Kitchenaid for easy clean up)

Flour mixture2
2. In a small saucepan bring Butter, Water, and Cocoa to a boil
3. Once above mixture reaches a boil, pour over Flour and Sugar Mixture and mix well first two steps
4. In another bow combine Eggs, Baking Soda, Buttermilk, Vanilla, and Cinnamon
5. Add to above mixture and mix wellbatter
6. Bake in 15 1/2 X 10 1/2 X 1″ baking sheet at 350* for 15-20 minutes or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.
7. While cake is baking, prepare frosting as you will need to frost this cake while it is still warm.
8. Combine Milk, Butter, Cocoa in small saucepan over low heat until butter is melted.
9. Combine Powdered Sugar and Vanilla in medium mixing bowl.
10. Pour Milk mixture over Powdered Sugar and Vanilla.
11. Mix until combined. This frosting is thin, so don’t worry if it doesn’t look like your usual frosting.
12. After removing cake from the oven, pour frosting over the cake, spreading to create an even layer.
13. Let frosted cake cook completely before serving.
Finished cake

8 thoughts on “The Winner Is…..Texas Sheet Cake

  1. I am excited to make this cake. I am glad it was the winner. I have a question about the pan. Do I use a regular sheet cake pan? Mine measure a shade under 1″. I do appreciate your advice. Thank you

    Like

    1. Hi Jack, no I’m sorry I should have been more clear, I will update the recipe to reflect that 2 cubes of butter is actually 2 sticks which translates into 1 cup. I know it’s probably more butter than most use, but it’s definitely worth it!

      I’m sure your pan will work fine. The pan I use is 1″, but just under will be fine 🙂

      Thank you for your questions, I have made this recipe for so many years it’s second nature to me, and making sure I included everything exactly the way I make it was challenging. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask.

      Please let me know how it turns out, I’ll be anxiously awaiting to hear all about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

