Meal Planning

Do you find yourself tired at the end of the day and overwhelmed with the age-old question…”Mom, what’s for dinner?” With three kids in school, activities, homework, etc. I have found that if I don’t plan ahead, we end up eating cereal or grilled cheese. That’s not to say there is anything wrong with either of those!

I have developed a system in our home to try to eliminate that stress, and our intake of overly processed food. I’ll explain in detail, and hope that you will share your system on meal planning with me.

Every few months the family sits down together and makes a list of some of our favorite meals. We do this because tastes change, we want to try new things, and depending on the season, some of our choices just don’t work. I use this list as a reference point to plan our meals weekly. I am also constantly on the lookout for new recipes, so sometimes I deviate from the family list and try something new.

Every week I plan our meals out for the entire week.
Here’s what is on the menu this week:
Monday- Hawaiian Ham Sammies with Macaroni Salad
Tuesday- Beef Noodle Casserole with Fruit Salad
Wednesday- Baked Ziti with Garlic Toast and Salad
Thursday-Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo Stuffed Shells with Fresh Fruit
Friday- Sloppy Joe’s and Tater Tots
Saturday- Smothered Italian Chicken with Garlic Buttered Spaghetti, Green Beans, Garlic Toast

I use our weekly menu to make our grocery list, accounting for lunches, baked items, and healthy snacks.

I have found that if I make the list from my planned meals, I spend less money at the grocery store, and avoid last-minute trips.

A little planning goes a long way.  I’ll explain in my next post the next step to this process.  I usually spend Sunday afternoon doing as much of the prep work as I can for the upcoming week, but more about that later 🙂

6 thoughts on “Meal Planning

  1. Since the children and I have moved in with my parents meal planning has become very difficult. There are foods my children love which my parents dislike. And vice versa. My dad is a meat and potatoes guy and my mom does not care for spicy seasonings.
    With the variety of tastes in the house I am sometimes at a loss for what to cook. Your ideas should help me with planning for the family.

    Like

    1. I hope it helps! Another idea I have tried is everyone gets to pick a main dish once a week, that way everyone participates and feels like have some control over meal planning. They don’t always like or want what someone else picked, but they look forward to their night and their meal 🙂 Let me know if I can help at all. I’ll even offer to help you plan some new meals if you want to provide me a list of likes/dislikes of your family.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

