Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day to all of the great Dad’s out there!

DAD

I’m so lucky to have a wonderful dad. I have such fond childhood memories of my time with him. In honor of Father’s Day, I’d like to share just a few šŸ™‚

My Dad loves music, always has and always will. When I hear great music I always think of him. Whether we were riding in the car, sitting on the couch, watching MTv (yes they used to actually to play music), or exploring a record shop for the latest hits my Dad was involved. I still remember the excitement in our house when he bought a cd player and brought home our first cd… Bon Jovi! My Dad helped me create great sound with my stereo in my bedroom by hanging speakers on the wall and working for hours until the sound was perfect. I was so cool…thanks Dad šŸ™‚

My Dad and I share similar interests in many things, we can sit near the computer exploring his latest project of genealogy, and time just seems to stop. We can talk politics, parenting, work related stress, and sports. I don’t get to spend nearly enough time with him, but every time is truly a treasured memory.

My Dad taught me to laugh, although usually a pretty serious gentleman…get him to watch “Airplane” and he turns into a giggle box, his laugh is contagious.

My Dad has also been a rock of quiet comfort and peace in times of struggle. When Kevin (another great dad) was facing death because of an emergency medical condition, my Dad demonstrated strength and comfort and told me with his eyes that no matter what he would take care of me. I am 40 years old, and still cherish the first gift he ever gave me… “Buff” my teddy bear šŸ™‚

My Dad never missed a Valentine’s Day…always made sure that my mom, sister and I felt loved and special. As our family’s have grown, he still makes sure to honor that tradition. He also made holiday’s extra special whether it was teaching us how to sneak mom’s holiday cookies and candy without her noticing, or stressing over making sure the wrapping paper was thrown away immediately after gifts were open as to not accidentally thrown something away later when cleaning up šŸ™‚

I love you Dad,
Happy Father’s Day!

**He’s also a wonderful grandfather or as the kids say…G-pa, the pic above is him at my niece’s kindergarten promotion ceremony and I believe he is carrying my Mom’s purse :)**

One thought on “Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

