Thoughts From An Old Soul….

What ever happened to enjoying an activity, event, conversation, or meal and then having that enjoyment become a memory imbedded in your brain for as long as it was supposed to? Lately I have seen an epidemic (strong word, I know) of people of all ages forgetting to savor the moments of their life, because they are to concerned with taking a selfie, posting a pic to social media, capturing a video, etc. I find this kind of sad to be honest.
Tuesday night as I watched the World Series with my family, I noticed that most of the attendees were only viewing the game through the lens of their smart phone Think of all of the sights, smells, sounds, etc. that they are missing from a once in a lifetime experience! One of my fondest memories as an adult was when I had the rare opportunity to watch a game at Fenway. As a Boston Red Sox fan from Arizona, you can only imagine the excitement of that night. If I close my eyes I can remember that night with all of my senses. I can hear the sounds of the crowd, the sounds of the ball hitting the bat, the sounds of a player catching the ball, the players talking and laughing or yelling and fighting. I can smell beer, hot dogs, freshly cut grass, dirt, etc. I can visualize the crowd, the players, and the stadium. I can feel the old seats, the energy of the crowd, etc.  I digress.  My point is that although this took place well over 10 years ago and I didn’t have a camera with me, I was still able to embrace the experience and create a memory of a lifetime.

I’m not sure I have a real point here, sorry maybe just venting. But I am going to challenge the few readers I have to savor the moments in life, after all they are so much more than what is captured through the lens of a smartphone!

Please fee free to share with me a memory in your personal memory bank that was so profound, enjoyable, or just plain real that a picture or video wasn’t necessary to make it memorable.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts From An Old Soul….

  1. Game 4 Flyers vs Capitals, Jeff Carter wins it in double overtime to give the flyers a 3-1 series lead. No picture or vid can come close to how I remember that game.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

