Chicken And Dumplings

IMG_1956

I’ve been sick, really sick. Over the last few weeks I have battled extreme fatigue and an overall feeling of yuck. Last week everything seemed to come to a head resulting in a compilation of illnesses. I suffered from a respiratory illness, stomach virus, and strep throat…simultaneously. Needless to say I haven’t been very active in the kitchen, but have watched countless hours of the Food Network, The Cooking Channel, and anything else to kill the time and keep my mind off of my misery.

While watching all of this food based television, I was inspired to make a semi-homemade version of my mom’s famous chicken and dumplings. It was just what the doctor ordered, almost as good as my mom’s ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m usually a little more creative in the kitchen, but this is one of those meals that is best in it’s traditional form.

Chicken and Dumplings
Ingredients:
1 Rotisserie Chicken
1 tbs butter
Celery, Onion, Carrot-to taste
Salt $ Pepper-to taste
2 48oz boxes of Swanson Chicken Broth
1 can cream of chicken soup
2 cups Bisquick
2/3 cup Milk

Directions:
Remove Chicken from bone, cut meat into bite sized pieces
In large pot, add butter, celery, carrot, onion, salt and pepper-sweat vegetables, add chicken, chicken broth.
Bring to a boil
Boil on simmer for 2-3 hours until vegetables are tender
Add Cream of Chicken Soup and stir until dissolved
Combine Bisquick and milk to form soft dough
Drop spoonfuls of dough into boiling soup-cook uncovered for 10 minutes and then covered for 10 minutes

2 thoughts on “Chicken And Dumplings

  1. Can’t wait to try some of this. I’ve been doing a lot of cooking since I retired and my lovely bride enjoys the rest. Looks very yummy.

    Like

    1. Redneck-I think it’s great that you have been cooking since you retired, your bride is a lucky, well rested woman ๐Ÿ™‚ This recipe is super easy and tastes like you slaved in the kitchen all day. You can also combine everything except the dumplings in the crock-pot and cook slowly for several hours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

