End Of An Era

IMG_1949

I have spent the last 12+ years of my life watching my son play baseball. So many weeknights and weekends with the wind blowing, sun shining, snack bar food, etc. I have sat in the bleachers, cheered, made great friends, laughed, shared in his joy of a win or that great play, felt his disappointment with each loss and error, etc.

Last week my son took the field for the last time. It was bittersweet, for all of the times I said “I can’t wait for this season to end”, it was sad to see it actually come to an end. I wasn’t sure how he would react to his final game, after the game he sat at the field for well over an hour contemplating the reality of his final baseball game. When he finally came home we chatted for awhile about what it means when something that has been so important in your life will never be there again. I tried to offer words of wisdom, faith in that the journey ahead will be just as important and life changing, and let him feel the pain. I don’t think I really did much to help him make peace with his reality, but I hope that someday he recognizes that I shared those emotions with him.

Prior to the game, they announced each senior and recognized their family. Here’s the picture his family.

IMG_1950

3 thoughts on “End Of An Era

  1. Being a parent is the best, but being a grandparent is sure fun. Wait until you get there. You can spoil them rotten and not suffer the consequences. (Not that I really do that.) Best of luck to your son on his upcoming adventure into life.

    Like

  2. Kyle’s last soccer game was the league championship. They lost, but he played well. Four more years of lacrosse, and hopefully some in college. I dread his last lax game.

    Like

Leave a Reply

